SCR Chess 2018/2019

The SCR is organizing another chess competition, for the very prestigious cup which may be seen behind the bar. If you would like to enter, then please send an email to Chris Wain. It is not necessary to be a player of a very high standard, or even an SCR member! The competition which began in 2015 has now (2018) been declared closed.

New participants particularly welcome.

Chris Wain

The Results in 2013 -15 are here - Winner: Jim Staniforth

The Results in 2012 were:

First RoundSemi FinalsFinal
W FullerW Fuller w/oT Hinchcliffe
J Grange  
T Hinchcliffe  
C M WainT Hinchcliffe 
A GoffeA Goffe 
D J GreenD J GreenD J Green

The First Round was to be played by 31st May 2012, with the Semi Finals complete by 30th June, and the Final by 31st July. Winner Tim Hinchcliffe

Competitors who arrange to play in the SCR Bar (Room 51 Keele Hall) and use the set kept there are asked to give notice of this to interested members. Results should be entered on the master copy of the draw on the Bar Noticeboard, and notified to Chris Wain.

Following some concern in the past about the length of certain ties, it has been decided that as a general rule clocks should be used. (Timings: the first 35 moves in 70 minutes; thereafter 15 moves in each 15 minutes). A clock may be borrowed from the bar or office with the set.

Winner 2011: Tim Hinchcliffe, a new holder for the Trophy

The prestigious Trophy itself is on display behind the bar.

Earlier results appear here

New participants particularly welcome next year. Please send me an email if you wish to take part in future years.